Akademy Awards 2009 – Winners Announced

Jul 09, 2009

The purpose of the Desktop summit on Gran Canaria is not only to improve cooperation and collaboration between the Gnome and KDE developers. As every year, a select few KDE developers will receive the project specific Akademy Award. We will introduce the winners.

Peter Penz received one award. Sebastian Trueg accepted the prize in his name as Penz was not able to make it to the event. He was honored for his word on KDE’s data manager Dolphin. David Faura pocketed the Jury’s Award for the biggest contribution to KDE. The developer is among those working on KDE for the longest running time. He works to find bugs in the software, and also develops components such as Kparts and for the KDE framework.

David Faure, Celeste Lyn Paul, Sebastian Trueg (for Peter Penz) The Akademy Awards are the KDE Community’s way of honoring the contributions of the KDE developers. The jury consists of the winners of the previous year’s awards.

Celeste Lyn Paul bears the distinction of being the one female honored with the award and also for having made the biggest non-application driven contribution to KDE: She works among the usability team and is glad the work the team does is appreciated by the Community.

Another award was given to Augustin Benito Bethencour for having organized the event on the Gran Canaria island.

Related content

comments powered by Disqus
Subscribe to our Linux Newsletters
Find Linux and Open Source Jobs
Subscribe to our ADMIN Newsletters

Support Our Work

Linux Magazine content is made possible with support from readers like you. Please consider contributing when you’ve found an article to be beneficial.

Learn More